Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden

Symposium

FORESIGHT 2021

FORESIGHT 2021
online, Deutschland
Veranstaltungsnummer: 37202
Gebühren ab: gebührenfrei
verfügbare Plätze: unbegrenzt
Sprache: Englisch

 Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Datum
    14.10.2021, 15:00 - 17:00
    Veranstalter
    DGFG - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gewebetransplantation
    Kurzbeschreibung
    Foresight 2021 - an scientific discussion hosted by The Eye-Bank for Sight Restoration, the German Society for Tissue transplantation (DGFG) and the Veneto Eye Bank Foundation. It will focus on how eye banks can effectively work with industry without compromising their non-profit status to create new & innovative treatments for blinding eye diseases through cellular therapies - presented by experts from the fields of bioethics, law, nonprofit governance, ophthalmology research & industry.
    Gebühren

    alle

    Teilnehmer max.
    unbegrenzt

    Gebühren ab
    k.A.
    Hinweis
    k.A.
  • US

    Europe

    Details

    09:00 EDT

    15:00 CET

    Welcome and Intros

    09:05 EDT

    15:05 CET

    Eckhard Nagel, MD, PhD
    "Public Trust and Confidence. How to Build and Sustain It."
    Non-profit organisations work within a framework that is based on the expectations that society holds regarding altruistic, ethical, responsible, transparent behavior. As a result, society develops a level of trust in the non-profit organisation. That trust can be lost by leaving or disrupting the framework.

    09:20 EDT

    15:20 CET

    Andy Davis, MPA
    "The Four Principles of Purpose-Driven Leadership"

    In a recent Stanford Social Innovation Review article, BoardSource unveiled the Four Principles of Purpose-Driven Leadership. Andy Davis, Associate Vice President of Education and Outreach, will discuss these four principles and what their adoption in 
    boardrooms could mean for the nonprofit sector as well as the communities we serve.

    The Four Principles of Purpose-Driven Leadership:
    • Purpose before organization: prioritizing the organization's purpose versus the organization itself.
    • Respect for the ecosystem: acknowledging that the organization's actions can positively or negatively impact its surrounding ecosystem and commit to being a respectful and responsible ecosystem player.
    • Equity mindset: committing to advancing equitable outcomes and interrogating and avoiding how the organization's strategies and work may reinforce systemic inequities.
    • Authorized voice and power: recognizing that organizational power and voice must be authorized by those impacted by the organization's work.

    09:35 EDT

    15:35 CET

    Robert Jacob, PhD
    "Non Profits in Healthcare - Board Responsibilities"

    Will address aspects of working with other University Hospitals that share a non-profit network for eye and tissue recovery, processing and allocation including how to ensure sustainable donation levels. 
    Will examine the role of a Board Member in supporting and sustaining altruistic financial contributions to enable research.

    09:50 EDT

    15:50 CET

    Arthur Caplan, PhD
    "Working with industry and COI"

    How can eye banks effectively work with Industry without comprising their non-profit status and integrity to create innovative cellular therapies using donated ocular tissues. If commercial entities become involved with 
    "manufacturing" new cellular therapies using tissue provided by an eye bank the key ethical issues to be considered include informed consent issues, ownership of the tissues; COI planning, return of profits and future disclosures as research and commercialization evolve.

    10:05 EDT

    16:05 CET

    Jana D’Amato Tóthová, PhD
    "Use of donor eye tissues in medical device development"

    In Europe, the manufacturers of medical devices (MD) guarantee the safety and efficacy of their products according to their intended use in compliance with the Medical Device Regulation 2017/745. Relevant pre-clinical and clinical data are produced and the use of 
    donor eye tissues is crucial for the validation of performance and safety during MD development phase. Examples of donor tissue use and related challenges during development of MDs intended for eye surgery and corneal storage will be illustrated.

    10:20 EDT

    16:20 CET

    Gilles Thuret, MD, PhD
    "Corneal donation for scientific purposes: 25 years of experience at the BiiGC lab (St-Etienne, France)"

    Our public university laboratory, focused on the biology, engineering and imaging of corneal grafts (BiiGC in French), has been developing academic research programmes and clinical research programmes in connection with industrial partners for 25 years.
    The eye tissues donated for science are essential in these two fields and must be of excellent quality. Using examples, we will illustrate how we manage these two types of use, which have the same purpose: to improve treatment options for patients.

    10:35 EDT

    16:35 CET

    Seth Levy, JD
    "Legal Considerations for use of Human Tissue in Clinical Research"

    This session will cover some of the key regulatory, intellectual property and other legal considerations that arise when collaborating with industry and using donated human tissue to develop commercial products and services.

    10:50 EDT

    16:50 CET

    Additional Q&A

    11:00 EDT

    17:00 CET

    Wrap up and closing

  • Die Veranstaltung findet online statt.

    DGFG - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gewebetransplantation
    Feodor-Lynen-Straße 21
    DE - 30625 Hannover
    Tel.: +49 511 563 559 30
    Fax: +49 511 563 559 55

  • Bitte wenden Sie sich für weitere Informationen direkt an den Veranstalter.

    Please contact the organizer for further information.