International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO)

International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO)

ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award
alle 4 Jahre

The Fifth ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award sponsored by the "Gottfried und Lieselotte Naumann-Stiftung e.V.", Erlangen, will be presented on the occasion of the World Ophthalmology Congress (WOC) 2026 in Melbourne/Australia.

The award is intended to encourage scientists and researchers under 60 years of age working in the field of clinic-related ophthalmic pathology ("Ophthalmic Pathology, Imaging and Disease Mechanisms"). The award is endowed with 20,000 US dollars and is presented every 4 years. Following the Award Ceremony, the awardee will give the "Ophthalmic Pathology Award Lecture" at the World Congress 2026 in Melbourne/Australia.

The candidates are nominated by the scientific associations, personal applications are also possible. An international scientific advisory board of 7 members will establish a triple list of candidates, ranked by priority, from proposals and applications.



DOG: Prof. Cursiefen, Köln (Chair); Prof. Löffler, Bonn

Europe: Prof. Coupland, Liverpool

Americas: Prof. Dryja, Boston

Asia: Prof. Kinoshita, Kyoto

Africa/Middle East: Prof. Pe’er, Jerusalem

ICO: Vice President

The final selection will be made by the Board of Trustees of the International Council of Ophthalmology
(ICO) at the annual meeting preceding the World Congress. The awarding process is being administered with the support and cooperation of the DOG.


Applications can be submitted to:

DOG German Ophthalmological Society
Platenstr. 1
80336 Munich

Bisherige Preisträger:

5th Award Winner


Professor Tero Kivelä

4th Award Winner


Sarah Coupland
Liverpool / UK

3rd Award Winner


Mark Tso
Baltimore / USA

2nd Award Winner


Ursula Schlötzer-Schrehardt
Erlangen / Germany

1st Award Winner


Thaddeus Dryja
Boston / USA