Laureate Recognition Award

American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)

The Academy’s highest honor, this award recognizes individuals from around the world who have made exceptional contributions to the betterment of eye care, leading to the prevention of blindness and restoration of sight worldwide.

The Laureate Award may be given to individuals who: developed new techniques accepted worldwide, made a seminal invention or adapted a previous technology, introduced a new treatment modality, discovered the etiology of a disease state, reassessed previous findings, resulting in a significant shift in treatment, established new standards of quality care in ophthalmology, made breakthroughs in genetic understanding, conducted primary research in new pharmacological product or provided sustained, impactful leadership to the profession.

DEADLINES & Vergabeordnung
deadline nomination 31.01.2019
Bisherige Preiseträger

2017: Irene H. Maumenee, MD

2016: Matthew D. Davis, MD

2015: Bruce E. Spivey, MD

2014: Jerry A. Shields, MD

2013: Daniel M. Albert, MD, MHS


American Academy of Ophthalmology

655 Beach Street

San Francisco, CA 94120-7424 USA

Fax: 415.561.8526


030 / 920 3854 262